PETITION

PETRONAS TO WITHDRAW ANY AND ALL INVESTMENTS IN MYANMAR

in protest of

Government of Myanmar's direct responsibility in planning, perpetrating and condoning the crime against humanity that has subjected hundreds of thousands of ethnic minority Rohingya men, women and children to systematic ethnic cleansing that (among others) involved torture, indiscriminate murder, burning of settlements, rape and intimidation in the last 10 years;

and/or

Aung San Suu Kyi's (and other members of any administrative body of Government of Myanmar) complicity in the genocide for their inaction that has indirectly condoned this policy carried out by the Government of Myanmar, which unfortunately has marred the good name of the people of Myanmar and devalued their fight for democratic rights in the eyes of the international community.

I. In recognition that PETRONAS (as the largest Malaysian conglomerate by value and size of operation globally)

- a. Shall be able to send a strong economic signal to Government of Myanmar that the latter's policy of genocide of ethnic minority Rohingya is an abomination to any civilised society in this region and the world;
- b. Shall be able to create a precedent in this region and internationally that any global conglomerate will exercise its moral duty and obligation (beyond the traditional monetary consideration) to refuse to do business with any and all entities (government or

- otherwise) that trample basic human rights and respect for other human beings, animal and the nature;
- c. Shall be able to inflict economic price on the Government of Myanmar that restricts the latter's ability to carry out genocide on ethnic minority Rohingya (and all other ethnic groups in Myanmar, minority or majority included); and
- d. Shall respect the feeling and wishes of the majority of its own employees and stakeholders in Malaysia and around the world, who would not have wanted PETRONAS to taint its hands directly or indirectly by doing a business with a regime that has been proven to have carried out a genocide against the ethnic minority Rohingya.
- 2. We, the signees of this petition, hereby calls upon PETRONAS to relinquish any and all participation in any form of operation in Myanmar (business or otherwise, investments or otherwise) with effect from I January 2018, unless and until
 - a. Government of Myanmar recognized that ethnic minority Rohingya are legitimate citizens of Myanmar and are accorded the rights and protection given to other citizens of Myanmar; and
 - b. All manner of intimidation, subjugation, discrimination and crime against them (ethnic minority Rohingya) are stopped immediately and comprehensively.

SIGNED TODAY ON 8 NOVEMBER 2017

This call for conscience, in defence of basic human rights and respect for a person and in pursuit of a morally responsible global corporate citizenry, is co-sponsored by the following parliamentarians and non-governmental organisations.

- Hon, Rafizi Ramli MP
- 2. International Campaign for the Rohingyas (http://www.rohingyacampaign.org/)
- 3. Hon. Johari Abdul MP, Chief Whip of KEADILAN
- 4. Hon, G Maniyanan MP
- 5. Hon. Khalid Samad MP
- 6. Hon. Raja Kamarul Bahrin Shah Raja Ahmad MP
- 7. Hon, Dr Nik Mazian Nik Mohamad MP

This petition is endorsed by the following:

- I. Rt. Hon. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail MP, Leader of Opposition
- 2. Hon. Muhyiddin Yassin MP
- 3. Hon. Fuziah Salleh MP
- 4. Hon. Darell Leiking MP
- 5. Hon, Mahfuz Omar MP
- 6. Hon. Dr Ong Kian Ming MP
- 7. Hon, Dr Azman Ismail MP
- 8. Hon. Alice Lau MP
- 9. Hon. Nurul Izzah Anwar MP
- 10. Hon. Dr. Mansor Othman MP
- 11. Hon. Hee Loy Sian MP
- 12. Hon. Zuraida Kamaruddin MP
- 13. Hon. Teo Nie Ching MP
- 14. Hon. Charles Santiago MP
- 15. Hon. Ng Wei Aik MP
- 16. Hon. Wong Chen MP
- 17. Hon. Gooi Hsiao-Leung MP
- 18. Hon. Stephen Wong MP
- 19. Hon, Sim Tze Tzin MP
- 20. Hon. Ahmad Baihaki Atigullah MP

- 21. Hon. Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff MP
- 22. Hon. Dr Lee Boon Chye MP
- 23. Hon. Imran Abdul Hamid MP
- 24. Hon. Dr Mujahid Yusuf Rawa MP
- 25. Hon. Dr Hatta Ramli MP
- 26. Hon. Hanipa Maidin MP
- 27. Hon. William Leong MP
- 28. Hon. Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid MP
- 29. Hon. Fauzi Abdul Rahman MP
- 30. Hon. Nga Korming MP
- 31. Hon. Jeff Ooi MP
- 32. Hon. Kashturi Patto MP
- 33. Hon. Zairil Khir Johari MP
- 34. Hon. Kamaruddin Jaafar MP
- 35. Hon. Thomas Su MP
- 36. Hon. Ngeh Koo Ham MP
- 37. Hon. Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud MP
- 38. Hon. Lim Lip Eng MP
- 39. Hon. Teo Kok Seong MP
- 40. Hon. Dr Izani Husin MP
- 41. Hon. Shamsul Iskandar Mat Akin MP